Jeff’s Post – Doctor – Doctor Give me the News!

It’s somewhat ironic that I’m writing a post about going to the doctor while I’m in the middle of a cold/flu that is kicking my butt and has brought my running to a grinding halt.  I had a cold last week and just kept running through it. I actually had some really fast runs and always felt better after.  I started feeling worse on Wednesday afternoon (had a good run that morning) and things were much worse when I woke up on Thursday.  I could hardly function so I knew a run was out of the question and although I’m feeling a tiny bit better this morning I’m going to take another day off and possibly the whole weekend if I don’t feel better.  Time will tell – I would love to go for a run with Tamara on Sunday if it works out.

I should probably be going to the doctor for my current condition but this post is about another doctor’s appointment (The dreaded I’m getting older and everyone is telling me I should go to the doctor).  I’m a typical male who thinks I’m bulletproof but yet doesn’t like going to the doctor because I’m afraid they might tell me something I don’t want to hear.  One of the reasons I started running a few years ago was because I was approaching my 40th birthday and when I finally did go to the doctor I didn’t want to leave with a laundry list of things I needed to do.  I wasn’t in horrible shape prior to running but I wasn’t where I wanted to be and I knew running would take me there.  I didn’t realize at the time that I would find the “runners high” and it would take me places that I have never been (both physically and mentally).

I probably should have gone to the doctor before I started running, I probably should have gotten a checkup before my first 10 miler, my first ½ marathon, my first marathon, my second marathon but I didn’t.  I was feeling better than ever and at one point made the silly comment that I wasn’t going to the doctor before my marathon because I didn’t want them to tell me not to run it.  I promised Tamara and my parents (a few times over) that I would go to the doctor.  One of my 2012 goals that I didn’t blog about was the one to get to the doctor.  So a few weeks ago I went to the doctor for a checkup and blood work.  I think I was a kid the last time I had blood taken.  During the interview with the doctor she asked me about my physical activity and I mentioned that I was a runner.  I think she had a clue but as soon as I confirmed that there seemed to be an instant respect from her.  We briefly discussed my running history (she asked me about the marathons).  It was almost as if she appreciated working with someone who takes care of themselves.  On my way out the door we made an appointment for the blood work – she mentioned that she wasn’t’ expecting any issues – I was in great shape and a perfect weight (I would really like to be about 10 pounds lighter btw).  Fast forward a couple weeks and I get the blood work results – everything is fine – Yeah!

Thanks Tamara and thanks mom and dad for pushing me to go.  But as I accept this award for being healthy and fit at 40 I would also like to thank running.  My mind and body is healthy because of you and I can’t thank you enough!

Have a great day – If you are one of those who dread doctors and are overdue for an appointment – just go – you and your loved ones will be glad you did!

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on January 27, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I did the same thing with the dentist (which reminds me I need floss—trying to be better with that).

  2. rebecca.sudduth@gmail.com

    Most healthcare providers LOVE that people care about their own health as much as they do.

Leave a Reply

