Jeff’s Post – The Olympic Trials – Thank u Twitter!

I feel like I can’t catch up this week and I know I’m a few days behind but I wanted to take a moment to discuss the Olympic Trials.  I was disappointed that the trials were not going to be broadcast live (what is up with that NBC!) and I had vowed that I would stay away from Twitter on Saturday.  I didn’t want to know who won when I watched the tape delayed broadcast but I just couldn’t do it.  Twitter was amazing on Saturday.  I once again found myself glued to my phone reading the tons of updates that were coming in second by second.  I was on the edge of my seat with each update.  I thought to myself at one point that in a strange way it was a little like listening to radio.  People were expressing excitement in their tweets and in many ways I felt like I was there – so exciting – so motivating!

I was amped up with all the Olympic talk and was so excited that Tamara and I had a run planned for that afternoon.  The Olympic trials are “Must see TV” in our house and I couldn’t wait for our run and then go back home to watch the trials.  We had a great run on Saturday and the trials didn’t disappoint.  It is just amazing to watch these athletes.  Their speed, endurance and will to compete and win is incredible.  I’ve talked a few times before about how the 5k isn’t my favorite distance because I’m pushing it and just feel uncomfortable the whole time.  To think that these athletes are pushing it about 2 minutes per mile faster for 26.2 miles is so impressive.  Congrats to all those who competed and to those who will represent us in London. You make us proud and you motivate us.

One last note – As I was watching the trials I couldn’t help but think of yet another reason I love the sport of running and the running community.  I will never compete in the Olympics but as a fellow runner I feel a connection to those athletes.  Whether you are an Olympic athlete or running your first 5k we share many of the same feelings.  The nerves at the starting line, wondering if we trained hard enough, wondering how our body will react if we push it.  We have all been there because we are all runners!

Have a great day and Happy Running!

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

