Jeff’s Post – Faster Friday!

Tomorrow, I’m running my first 5k since June.  It feels like I’ve done more races since then but when I look back there have only been three (a ½ Marathon and 2 Full Marathons).  I’m not a huge fan of the 5k.  I’m competitive so I tend to push myself so hard that I’m basically uncomfortable the whole race.  The 5k tomorrow does have a special place in my heart though.  It was really my first competitive 5k and I won 1st place in my AG.  It is a smaller race and the competition wasn’t that tough but it did make me feel like I belonged and could compete on some level.  It began my obsession with running.

I’m not sure what kind of time I will get tomorrow.  I want a good showing but I won’t be disappointed if I don’t have a great time.  I’ve been concentrating on distance running for so long that I know I have slowed down a bit.  Today I started what I hope will become a habit “Faster Friday”.  I ran 6 miles on the treadmill with increasing speeds from mile 3 thru 6.  I ran the last mile at a 6:30 pace.  It really felt good to go fast again!

Have a great day and run fast at the end – It feels good!!

 

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on November 18, 2011, in Daily Workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

