Jeff’s Post – Marathons, Social Media, TV – What a Great Weekend!

Such a great weekend to be a fan of running.  It was marathon weekend in New York and for the first time since I can remember I sat in front of the TV for hours watching the marathon.  I allowed myself to do this for a few reasons.  First, I have a marathon (Richmond) coming up this weekend and I considered this valuable research that I will use in my race planning. 🙂  Second, I have a marathon (Richmond) coming up and I need to rest my legs.  Watching New York was so motivating.  It seems like records are falling with each race, what an amazing time to be a fan of the marathon.

I also love the integration of social medial in all of these events.  I love all of the updates on Twitter and Facebook (by both the event organizers and runners).  It has been fun to watch fellow runners post training updates on twitter/blogs and then follow them into race day with real time updating.  I love that you can feel a part of an event in so many ways.

Tamara and I had a great run on Saturday (13 miles for me).  I took Sunday off (but I really really wanted to run after watching New York).  I ran three miles this morning (Monday), plan on running 3 on Wed and then rest until race day.  I’m taking a few extra days off this week, my legs feel tired and I would rather go into Richmond a little undertrained than tired.

Have a great day and go for a run if you get a chance!

Short Slow 3 miles this morning

 

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on November 7, 2011, in Daily Workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

