Yep -I’m running another Marathon in two weeks – Hello Richmond!

Hello Richmond!  A few weeks ago I ran my first Marathon (Baltimore).  It was an incredible experience and I was thrilled to be a marathoner.  I was happy with my Baltimore run but deep down I wanted to do better.  For the first time in my brief racing history I struggled both mentally and physically.  I finished the marathon in 3:58 which was under my stretch goal of 4 hours, a great accomplishment that I’m really proud.  Those who know me well know that I don’t settle for mediocrity and I will continue to push myself both physically and mentally.  I wrote a post a month or so ago about finding the wall and crushing it.  I don’t feel like I crushed the wall in Baltimore.  Obviously, I want to improve my time from Baltimore but honestly my main goal is to just stay strong the whole run.  I will be thrilled with a better time but that is not my focus.   I’m already more relaxed with one in the books and I’m hoping to live in the moment a little more in Richmond.  I feel fit and the lessons learned from Baltimore are fresh in my mind.

I love the race weekends and I’m excited to be heading south in a few weeks.  Tamara will be running the 8k and then darting in and out of parts of the city cheering me on.  I’m so thankful to have such a supportive partner and friend.

We r runners – we r marathoners and we r looking forward to a great weekend in Richmond – T-minus 10 days!

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Events/Races and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good for you guys! I will be down there as well. I am signed up for the marathon but may switch to the 1/2. My 50 mile race is that next week so I have 2 choices: Do the marathon REALLY slow – like 5 to 6 hour pace or run the 1/2. I think a lot of it will depend on the weather.

Leave a Reply

