Jeff’s Post – A Look Back at September and 15 Days Until Baltimore!

I was really happy with my running in September.  I ran 27 times (5 outside runs – the rest on the treadmill) – 224 Miles – 28,339 Calories Burned – Long Runs during the month 18, 21 and 22 miles. I ran in two states (Maryland and Virginia) and ran my first official ½ Marathon –Virginia Beach Rock and Roll.  I’m also really pleased with my running mileage so far this year 1745 miles thru September.

15 Days until Baltimore, my first marathon.  I’m getting so antsy for this thing to get here.  I’m super excited and I feel really good about my training.  I continue to be careful and will continue that for the next two weeks.  I’m not introducing anything new or different in my workouts or my diet.  I really really want a good finish time because I’m so competitive but I have made a promise to myself that I will turn the competitive side of me down a little until I finish this first marathon.  I don’t want to set the bar too high J – After all, all runners compete with themselves and as I get better with age so will my marathon times.

I’m in week 2 of taper and plan to run about the same mileage I did this week (48 miles).  I ran every day last week except Sunday.  I’m still deciding what I will do marathon week – I still find it difficult to think about running the least amount of mileage I have all year during the same week that I will run my longest distance.

I’m ready for October – Bring it on!

Have a great day and go for a run if you get a chance!

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Daily Workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This week and next are the key time to rest up, run quite a bit less, stay off your feet, get extra sleep and get hydrated all for putting it on the line on race day. It’s tough a thing to do mentally, but you’ll thank yourself come race day.

Leave a Reply

