Jeff’s Post – My Treadmill – My Friend!

I’ve read many posts and articles where people talk about their hate for the treadmill.  I may be in the minority but I absolutely love my treadmill.  My number one preference would be to run outside but during the week that is difficult for me and the treadmill is my friend.  I’m fortunate that I have a treadmill in my basement (unfinished – hope to have it finished soon!) which makes it much easier for me.

My Treadmill - I have spent many many hours on this!

Why I like the treadmill.

It saves my legs (I’m not sure I could put in all the mileage I do on pavement).

I don’t have to worry about running in the dark (most of my runs are in the 5:00am timeframe).

I don’t have to worry about the weather – I‘ve never had to cancel a treadmill run due to the weather.

I can also run at a consistent temperature (this can be both a positive and negative)I can control my speed – I can control the incline – no surprises!

I can watch TV while I run (most of the time I’m  watching a concert I have on the DVR and watch the news on closed caption).

These are just a few reasons why I love the treadmill.  My treadmill has trained me for my upcoming marathon and I’m thankful for that.  I have a huge amount of respect for those of you who brave the elements everyday to get your run in!

6.5 Treadmill miles this morning – Have a great day and if you see a treadmill – jump on it – it isn’t all that bad!

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Daily Workouts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

