Jeff’s Post – The Lone Ranger

The Lone Ranger was one of my favorite shows as I kid. I can still remember sitting in my room watching the Texas Ranger fight the bad guys (keep in mind I’m not THAT old – I was watching old reruns). Departing on his white stallion, Silver, the Lone Ranger would shout, “Hi-yo, Silver! Away!” As they galloped off, someone would ask, “Who was that masked man anyway?”

I kind of felt like The Lone Ranger this weekend. Last weekend, at the Virginia Beach Rock and Roll ½ Marthon, I ran 13.1 miles with Tamara and approximately 11,000 of my running friends. This weekend it was just me and the highway. I wanted to get a long run in over the weekend since my marathon is quickly approaching. As the sun rose early Saturday morning, I departed on my Brooks Ghost 3’s, running off towards the sunrise, I shouted “Hi-yo, Jeffrey! Away!” As the town was waking up, I ran by three people standing on the side of the road (I think they were waiting for a ride – they didn’t even clap or offer me water). I don’t mind running by myself and if I can’t run with Tamara I actually prefer that. I also feel like if I’m able to run 18-22 miles by myself that only makes me stronger. My long run (18 miles) on Saturday was actually a good run. I wasn’t so worried about my pace just wanted to feel good at the finish and I did. I’m trying to simulate some things for Marathon day – eating the same thing the night before the run – waking up at the same time – eating the same breakfast. I’m also trying to throw GU in the mix and make sure I get the timing right on that. I woke up Sunday feeling a little sore but wanted to get back on the road and I did-running 8.5 miles. So all in all I was very happy with my weekend runs. Hoping to get some runs in with Tamara this weekend and break 20 miles one of the days.

Oh – back to the three people standing on the side of the road. As I ran by them I could hear them thinking “Who is that running man anyway”. If they only knew!

Ran 6.5 miles this morning – legs still a bit tired from the weekend.

Have a great day and go for a run if you get a chance!

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Daily Workouts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

