Jeff’s Daily Post – Preparing for the Hurricane!

We live in Southern Maryland and it really looks like we are going to get hit with our first big hurricane in years.  I think I have most of the basics to survive – protein shakes, bananas, G2, Garmin charged, iPods charged, all running clothes laundered, 4 pairs of new Brooks shoes in stock and I have gas in the generator to run the treadmill.  So in the event of a prolonged power outage I don’t expect my fitness level to slide!

Ok, seriously I’m a bit concerned about the size and strength of this hurricane but feel like I have done what I needed to be prepared.  The Annapolis 10 Miler I was supposed to (and very excited to btw) run on Sunday has been cancelled.  I feel for the race directors – not an easy call to make but I think they did what they had to do.  It is probably good that they cancelled as I would have drove myself to Annapolis and run through the wind and rain.  I’m scheduled to run the Rock and Roll ½ Marathon in Virginia Beach next week – I’m hoping everything is settled down both and home and the event by then – looking forward to that race too.

Last race note – Today I unboxed and began breaking in my “Marathon Shoes”.  I’m going with the Brooks Ghost 3.  I have always run in 3’s and have a couple of Ghost 4’s new in the box but wanted to stick with the shoe that has got me here.  I plan on mostly treadmill and a few outside runs and hope to get around 100 miles on the shoes before the race – Baltimore – October 15th – My first marathon!

To those on the east cost stay safe this weekend!  Go for a run if you get a chance!

Breaking in my new Ghost 3’s Relying on them to carry me 26.2 Baltimore Miles in October

About werrunners

Two Runners Sharing a Journey!

Posted on August 26, 2011, in Daily Workouts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

